Skip to Content

What you should know about Colorado’s new DUI law


(720) 712-2972

Toll Free : (720) 712-2972

Anyone convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) can be ordered to have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed in their vehicle. As you probably know, this is a Breathalyzer-type device that requires a person to blow into it to show that they are not under the influence in order for the vehicle to start. 

Rolling retests are also required while driving to show that the driver didn’t begin consuming alcohol once they started the vehicle. They require a driver to blow into the IID when prompted.

A suspended license period can be avoided

Those with an IID are allowed to drive legally under a restricted license. Colorado law used to require that those convicted of DUI wait at least 30 days before they could obtain this license – and their IID. 

Unfortunately, too many people were simply driving on a suspended license during this period. Without an IID in the vehicle, some were driving drunk. As one state senator said, “It was leading to repeat offenses even in that short period, which of course is hugely damaging to public safety.”

That’s why beginning on Jan. 1 of this year, the law now allows people to obtain their restricted license and IID immediately upon their conviction.

Continuous alcohol monitoring for those with multiple convictions

The new law also requires people who have been convicted of a drunk driving offense a minimum of three times to wear a continuous alcohol monitoring (CAM) device for at least 90 days. These devices are much like electronic monitors that people placed under home detention or “house arrest” have to wear so that their location can be tracked. However, CAM devices detect alcohol in a person’s perspiration for a minimum of 90 days. 

This is intended to minimize those considered most at risk of getting behind the wheel while intoxicated from doing so. Colorado is the first state to codify this requirement into law.

Colorado law takes drunk driving seriously. That’s why if you’ve been arrested and charged with DUI or driving while ability impaired (DWAI), it’s crucial to protect your rights and minimize the consequences on your life. Having legal guidance can make all the difference. 

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
Share To: