Susan Fuller & Associates, P.C.
303-586-3956
Practice Areas

Colorado Springs Criminal Defense Law Blog

19-year-old may be charged with DUI

A 19-year-old Colorado resident has found himself in trouble with the law. He is said to have caused a car accident that resulted in him and his passenger suffering injuries. The driver of the other vehicle is said to be okay. Police are still investigating this incident, but they say a DUI charge is expected in this case.

According to a recent news report, the accused was operating his vehicle while traveling eastbound on Constitution and attempted a left-hand turn right in front of a car traveling westbound. The two vehicles collided. The accused suffered a head injury -- minor in nature. His passenger ended up with a broken leg.

Did a failed field sobriety test result in a DUI charge?

Police officers in Colorado are frequently on the lookout for those who may be operating their vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Those suspected are typically pulled over and asked to participate in field sobriety testing. A failed test could result in a DUI charge.

There are, currently, only three standard field sobriety tests. These are the one-leg stand, the walk and turn and the horizontal gaze nystagmus. There are several others out there, but they are not deemed as accurate as these, which is why these are considered the gold standard for detecting impairment.

A shoplifting charge can be more serious than you think

Theft is a crime that is not taken lightly in the state of Colorado. There are varying degrees of theft, leaving some people to believe that certain types of stealing really aren't a big deal. Shoplifting is a great example of this. If you are accused of shoplifting, you may find the charges against you to be more serious than you thought possible.

To be convicted on a shoplifting charge, two specific elements have to exist in your case. These two elements are that you took possession of store merchandise and you did it with the intent of taking it from the store without paying for it. Intent is the hardest part to prove. Anyone who goes into a store and places an item in a cart or shopping bag has technically taken possession of it. It is what they do after the fact that can land them in legal trouble.

Colorado man facing criminal charges

A Colorado man was recently taken into police custody for allegedly refusing to let a woman leave his apartment. The criminal charges filed against him are reportedly many. If convicted, the consequences could be quite severe.

According to local news report, police received a call from a friend of a woman who was allegedly being kept from leaving the home of the accused. The evening of Feb. 19, police responded to the Encore at First and Main apartment complex to investigate the situation. When they arrived on scene, the woman was no longer in the apartment. She was outside and told police that the accused was still in his home. Upon police request, he came out without incident.

Will I go to jail over a first-time DUI offense?

It happened. You were driving home and were pulled over for suspected DUI. You failed a Breathalyzer test and found yourself being placed in police custody. You've been charged with impaired driving for the first time in your life, and now you are worried that you will end up in a Colorado jail for an extended period of time.

After a DUI arrest, you may spend some time in jail or another type of detention center until you are released on bond or under the condition that you will appear in court. This does not mean that you will automatically have to spend more time behind bars than that. It all really depends on the details of your case.

Criminal charge filed against teacher accused of child abuse

Feb. 1, the day started out like any other day at Angevine Middle School. The pledge of allegiance was recited over the intercom system, and students were allowed to sit or stand during it -- according to school policy. However, word of a teacher allegedly forcing one student to stand soon reached the ears of administration and parents. The Colorado teacher is now facing a criminal charge of child abuse.

A male student complained that his gym teacher forced him to stand during the pledge. This she did by allegedly lifting him up by grabbing at his jacket. She is then said to have forced him out of the classroom. Upon investigating the incident, the District Attorney's Office decided to file third-degree child abuse charges against the teacher.

Colorado felonies: Illegal cultivation and manufacturing

Some aspects of certain drug crimes are illegal and subject to both state and federal penalties. For instance, illegal cultivation and manufacturing may be considered felonies according to state and federal laws. How Colorado residents who are accused of such crimes fight their cases could mean the difference between maintaining their freedom and spending years behind bars.

When it comes to cultivation -- specifically in regard to marijuana -- it may not be illegal if the individual cultivating the product has all the right permits to do so. This is a drug that is legal in the state, but that does not mean just anyone can grow and distribute it. Non-medical users can grow their own for personal use, but they cannot have more than six plants. Anyone found with more than that or found to be selling the product illegally could face felony charges.

Recent statewide DUI patrol just wrapped up

A few days ago, a recent statewide campaign to stop impaired drivers just ended. This is the first campaign of its sort for the year. There are more to come as the DUI issue remains a big one in Colorado.

According to a recent report, a total of 119 law enforcement groups from around the state took part in this effort. They were on the lookout for drivers impaired by drugs, cannabis or alcohol. This is the first of 14 such campaigns the state typically runs during the year.

Colorado criminal defense: Probation Q and A

Following a criminal conviction, or the entry of a guilty plea, it is possible for one to receive a probation sentence rather than some form of incarceration. Colorado only considers probation in certain types of criminal defense cases. This week, this column will address a few common questions some may have about how probation works.

Question number one is: Who may be eligible for probation? This type of sentence may be available to any adult or juvenile charged with a felony or misdemeanor crime. Before deciding if it is a viable option, a risk assessment must be conducted. Depending on the results, one may receive regular probation, intensive supervision or incarceration.

Colorado woman facing murder charge

Police in Colorado had been talking with a woman who they believed had information about the disappearance of her father. Authorities began to suspect the woman after they started receiving calls from concerned family members about not being able to get in touch with her dad. After several visits with the woman and an official investigation into the matter, police took her into custody and she is now facing a murder charge.

According to a recent report, police in Federal Heights received a number of phone calls regarding a missing person. Several family members reported not being able to get in contact with a 69-year-old male that lived in the area and they wanted police to go to his house to check on him. On Dec. 28, they visited the address and found his 44-year-old daughter living there. She claimed he had left on a camping trip with his girlfriend and never returned. Officers returned to speak with the woman several times and even asked her to come into the station for a formal interview before she was finally taken into custody on Jan. 10.

Contact Information

Parker Office
19751 E. Mainstreet Suite 270
Parker, CO 80138

Toll Free: 888-832-5976
Phone: 303-800-0474
Fax: 303-841-7620
Parker Law Office Map

Colorado Springs Office
630 N. Tejon Street
Colorado Springs, CO 80903

Toll Free: 888-832-5976
Phone: 303-800-0474
Map & Directions